Are You and Your Home Toxic?

ARE YOU AND YOUR HOME TOXIC?TOXIC

Home remedies are something that I am all for. I believe that God knew what He was doing when He created the different fruits, vegetables, herbs, etc. When I eat something I like to look at the the benefits of that food. It makes me feel good when I know what that food does.

Some months back I had the pleasure of running into a lady in my local grocery store with a PHD in alternative medication. She knew her stuff. My children are always conversation starters, because they are so doggone cute. And, that’s how we started talking. She saw my baby and that was it.

We began talking about household cleaners as I was in the cleaner section. She asked me what I cleaned with. I proudly stated that I use Comet, because I loved how it cleaned my tub. She explained how toxic comet has chemicals that can cause cancer, asthma,  and reproductive disorders. She also explained that comet contains formaldehyde, and other toxic junk that I never knew where in there. I was shocked!

She did however, give me an alternative to this and other things in your home that may be toxic. I’ll share them with you below:

1. Comet – formaldehyde, benzene and chloroform

Alternative to CometThyme oil. Thyme is an herb. Thyme oil can be purchased a your local health food store or online, and it kills 99.9% of germs.

2. Simple Green – I like this, because it cuts through grease. Well… Simple Green if absorbed through the skin, can damage red blood cells and irritates eyes.

Alternative to Simple GreenParsley Spray . Parsley is another herb. You can find these in the vegetable section of your local grocery store. Grab a bunch of parsley. Boil it in a pot of water. Let the mixture sit for about 20 minutes or so. After it has cooled, pour your mixture into a spray bottle. Add a little baking soda (a natural deordorizer), and shake your mixture together. Not only will your home smell clean, but Parsley cuts grease too. Parsley is also a natural way to get rid of ants.

3. Laundry detergents (powder and liquid) – Laundry detergents typically contain hazardous ingredients like sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS)/sodium laureth sulfate (SLES); 1,4-dioxane; NPE (nonylphenol ethoxylate), and phosphates, and maybe some other toxic crap that I can’t pronounce. These can{cause respiratory problems, eye irritation, endocrine system disruption, and cancer. They can also cause damage to your brain, central nervous system, kidneys, liver and respiratory system.

Alternative to regular Laundry DetergentsSoap Nuts. They are an all-natural, plant-based product that literally grows from a tree. I’ve never grown them myself, but I’ve read that they are pretty easy to grow.

They are naturally hypoallergenic, odorless and do no damage to surfaces or fabrics. Using soap nuts as a laundry detergent would be quite cost effective as there wouldn’t be a need to buy separate detergents for your newborn/infant; it’s safe for everyone in the house. They make your clothes softer, and there is no need to use dryer sheets after a wash with them (I’m speaking from experience).

The soap nut comes from the Soapnut Tree (Sapindus mukorossi). The trees produce the small black berry, approximately one inch in diameter, that are deseeded and the shell is dried prior to use.

The shells used for detergent contain something called saponin, which works as a natural surfactant. Surfactants reduce the surface tension of the water, essentially making it wetter and easier to penetrate into soiled fabrics. This combined with the agitation of your machine or handwashing removes the dirt or particles, then keeps them away from your clothing until rinsing occurs.

We also use soapnuts as a dish detergent. The only (I guess you can say bad) thing about soapnuts is that there aren’t a lot of suds like there would be from a regular dish detergent. They can also be used as a shampoo, and a body soap. You can buy soapnuts online, and I even think that Target may sell them. You can also make soapnut detergent yourself.

I’d love to hear from you. Please leave a comment below.

If you find this information beneficial, please consider subscribing. Like, and share this information on facebook, and other forms of social media. I’ll be posting more reviews on products. I’ll soon have contests, giveaways, and coupons as well.

Click here for Donna Attard’s book with more DIY safe, and green cleaning ideas. Safeguard your family.

 

This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

